Language politics again

A law has been proposed in, where else, California, making it illegal to insist on a specific language of work!!

“SB 111, authored by Sen. Leland Yee, D-San Francisco, would make it a violation of the state’s civil rights law for a company to require that a specific language be spoken at the business unless it has a narrowly defined business necessity.”

Why can’t people just be responsible for their own lives. I speak a language, you speak a language. If I don’t speak any language you speak, I don’t work for you and don’t do business with you. No work for lawyers.

Or I don’t speak your language but I want your business so I hire someone who speaks both our languages. No work for lawyers.

Or I want to work for you but don’t speak your language, or the language of your workplace, so I learn your language. No work for lawyers.

What is going on here? How do these people think?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Language politics again

  1. eugrus says:

    I just don’t like the "no work for lawyers" thing here, Steve! 😀

Leave a Reply

